Watermelon Molasses

It has taken twenty-four hours to realize the fruit from my latest culinary adventure. I don’t even have a very clear idea as to what prompted this mission. I just knew I needed cookies. Watermelon cookies.

Anyone can make cookies out of fake syrupy stuff you make cocktails with, but to use real watermelon as a critical ingredient? I drew my inspiration from a couple of sites: cupcake project and Mother Earth News. The former actually drew inspiration from the latter. Watermelon molasses isn’t as popular as you might think.

There is no need to tell you how to make your own. Everything I know came from the aforementioned sites. I do feel compelled to tell you about the smell. That sweet and foul scent that makes you want to scrap the whole project.

I hate trying new things that have an unpleasant process. My stomach churns and and I’m gripped with fear. Fear that I created an abominable nightmare that could escape the confines of my kitchen, and if loosed, will envelop the countryside with a ghastly funk that could menace everyone it encounters.

I was lucky this time. The funk has abated and the cooked watermelon molasses has a very nice flavor. It’s not something you would want to spread on toast, but as a general sweetener, it is delightful.

image

One melon yielded 1 pint that I canned. Not much at all. I used watermelon pulp that I strained and 1/4 cup of molasses for cookies. The batter is chilling in the fridge until this evening. It tastes great as-is, so I expect these cookies to be exceptional.

3 thoughts on “Watermelon Molasses”

Leave a Reply

