Dr. Hook and the Crusty Bread Show

I haven’t made bread in awhile and I’m certainly a rookie bread guy (or maybe Private Bread Guy), but I’m borrowing a stand mixer from a friend to see if I can’t live without one. It’s official: I can’t live without one.

My hands are delicate and my arms are puny, so I could never knead the dough adequately. I see that the bread hook (Dr. Hook) can pick up the slack, though.

I was looking up methods to make the bread crusty, and I found this recipe. My recipe was slightly different, but I believe cooking the bread in my cast iron Dutch oven helped increase the crust factor. I thought it was nuts to throw water in the pot, but hey, I’m not the Master Bread Chieftain.

2 thoughts on “Dr. Hook and the Crusty Bread Show”

  1. Did you make that bread in the picture? I want to devour what I see! After all, I am the guy who can go into restaurants and dine on the bread rolls alone.

    Like

  2. I love the bread in restaurants! I always kick myself when the entree comes out because I’m full.

    Yep, I made the bread pictured. Haven’t tried it yet, but I think it may go with my Tabasco brand jalapeño jelly.

    Like

Leave a comment