Not-So Affordable Care

The medical industry is a racket. Tomorrow will be my first appointment with a rheumatologist. I have various joint symptoms, and after seeing my regular doctor and an orthopedist, this is the next step.

We have private insurance because my wife works for a small company and I have been unable to work full time for three years because of my ailments. Our best guess is that I have an autoimmune disorder that was triggered by trauma stemming from a vasectomy. (In simple terms, the doctor forgot to inject the lidocaine). I have had numerous procedures and have been dealing with nerve damage in this delicate area only to have increasing pain in my knees and ankles.

I’m displeased because I just received a phone call from the doctor’s office informing me to bring $500. I read was a requirement for those without insurance. The day I filled out the forms, I told my wife, “Yay us! We have insurance!”

Private insurance. $6600 deductible. All so we could have insurance for under $700 a month. Insurance that is pretty much useless unless one of us gets into a car accident and loses a face while growing a tumor farm on their back. And athlete’s foot. It’s the athlete’s foot combined with everything else that helps meet the deductible.

This insurance nightmare is still pre-Obamacare. By January, we should be feeling the rainbows and unicorns from the Affordable Care Act bearing down on us. I’ll be surprised if we don’t end up paying $1000 a month for less coverage.

I’m sorry. Did I say coverage? Paying for everything out of pocket doesn’t sound like an equitable proposition. On top of that, let’s pay the equivalent of a small house note each month so we can carry around a worthless insurance card.

I can see why some people might be driven to rob banks. Maybe I should bring a cap gun to my appointment and demand a free consultation.

 

(Above CC image courtesy of 401(K) 2012 on Flickr).

9 thoughts on “Not-So Affordable Care”

  1. Good luck at your appointment. Insurance is frustrating to everyone involved, I know my Primary Care Doctor gets so irritated at the hoops he has to jump through for his various patients to keep their insurance companies happy that he stays frustrated. I justed had my first two experiences with Rheumatology appointments in March and then earlier this month. They are completely different than anything else I had ever experienced, and I see a number of doctors right now. Be prepared, they like to squeeze your joints! I hope you get answers that lead to better treatment.

    Like

    1. Well, thank you. They already said the first visit would take three or four hours. As long as they find something treatable, I’ll be happy. I’ve given up on pain free long ago, but I’m sure you know the drill, this can put you on your back for days.

      Like

      1. My first appointment was 2ish hours and was with my Rheumatologist’s assistant. My follow up appointment was with my actual doctor and was 2 1/2 hours long a month later. I was officially diagnosed with Lupus/SLE and Definite Antiphospholipid Syndrome (we already knew I had APS and probable Lupus prior to my appointments though). They were both long and exhausting appointments. I prefer them to my Hematology appointments though. Hematologists are weird and like to poke your armpits. 😛 I know the medical reason is to check your lymph nodes but I still find this really weird. He is the only doctor of mine that checks my armpits every appointment.

        Like

Leave a Reply

