The Cotton Boll Grill

Confident that my rheumatologist is nearing an explanation for my ailments, Heather and I decided to celebrate with lunch. Besides, I always get hungry when I have an appointment.

It’s been about a year since we visited The Cotton Boll Grill at 1624 Fairfield Ave. It’s not that we had a poor experience, we just aren’t in this part of town often and the restaurant closes at three.

As we sit down, the waitress comes by and asks, “Do you two know what–” Fried chicken! I never gave her a chance to get the words out. The waitress was taken aback and laughed. She returned shortly with the special of the day. Why can’t they sell fried chicken everyday?

I feel it is only fair to mention that this establishment has fallen to second place since I last visited. The current champion of fried chicken is Gus’s World Famous Fried Chicken in Memphis, TN. Serious chicken. I wake up in a cold sweat like a panicked heroin addict in a shooting gallery and nothing but collapsed veins.

Gus’s satisfies an itch that you can’t scratch. Have your adenoids ever itched where you have to snarl your face and throat? Gus’s is more effective with their fried chicken. The Cotton Boll won’t soothe any itching adenoids, but it cures dry mouth and scurvy.

20140416-141047.jpg
I always have time for fried chicken.

That zing you taste is flavor, baby. It definitely has some cayenne to wake you up. You wanna know the Portuguese translation? FLAVOR. Actually, I think it’s cayenne, but I’m no linguist.

20140416-141154.jpg
See that orangish color under the skin? That’s flavor.

The potatoes were mediocre, but the pinto beans and blackeyed peas were delicious.  Besides, I don’t remember coming here for the mashed potatoes.  If I came for the potatoes, I would expect some top shelf spuds.

There aren’t many establishments in Shreveport that I would consider good eats.  I don’t normally get excited about food unless it’s exceptional.  This chicken is exceptional.

4 thoughts on “The Cotton Boll Grill”

Leave a Reply

