On the Kentucky Canard

I have seen a lot of news regarding the county clerk in Kentucky who refused to issue marriage licenses in protest to the homosexual “marriage” debacle.  To be honest, I don’t know what to think about Kim Davis and her refusal to carry out her duties.  

As a Christian, my knee-jerk reaction was to simply obey the law of the land as dictated in Romans 13.  After all, she could resign to satisfy her conscience.  Then I read Matt Walsh’s article and determined that my initial response may have been rash.

I’m still considering Romans 13–specifically Romans 13:2, “Therefore whoever resists the authorities resists what God has appointed, and those who resist will incur judgment.”  At the risk of sounding circular, all rulers are ultimately appointed by God.  History is rife with unjust rulers and government, but are we forbidden from ever opposing the government?  

I’m aware that many people are in agreement with same-sex “marriage”.  Even many professing Christians support this movement.  I’m left wondering if they are even familiar with the Bible or if they are rejecting parts that they feel are unreasonable.  If they reject parts of the Bible, why accept Christ’s resurrection?  Why believe at all?  These people are already demonstrating that the Bible is untrustworthy.  All that aside, this particular situation should focus on Kim Davis’s conscience.  Even if she is wrong, should she be compelled to violate her conscience?

Had Davis simply resigned, we would not be having this discussion.  This is a perfectly reasonable response and her conscience would be unblemished.  I think this is the approach I would have taken.

I also have to consider Shadrach, Meschach, and Abednego and the firey furnace in Daniel 3.  They could have bowed to the idol and avoided the furnace.  They don’t have to mean it, they just have to obey the law of the land, right?  Their dilemma was whether they should obey God or man.  They chose the former so Nebuchadnezzar cast them into the fire.

Ultimately, I believe this is an individual matter for the Christian.  I think one could construct a biblical case to support Davis’s resignation or her decision to refuse to issue marriage licenses.  The Bible does not consent to the participation in the commission of sin, though.

If anything, I think Davis’s conviction (however misguided it may or may not be) is commendable.  How many of us would crumble so that we could avoid jail or even an unpleasant glare?  Do you have any convictions worth defending at any cost, or is it all relative?

7 thoughts on “On the Kentucky Canard”

    1. I think I understand what you are saying. I am a Christian and my views, beliefs, etc. should not be used to mount my own personal crusade. I agree with that, but I don’t know if I would essentially be doing that if I stifle somebody else’s conviction. I’m conflicted to say the least.

      Like

  1. There’s only one thing easier than having an $80k government job providing and processing forms, and that’s drawing the same pay for refusing to do it. And while we’re at it, where’s the Biblical justification for intimidating the 5 (out of 6) deputy clerks who disagreed with her, but were unable to do THEIR jobs until she was put in jail?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t have all the facts and resigning (at least from my perspective) would not only be the simplest choice, it also would offer her an “out” so that she would not have to violate her conscience. I believe this is the route I would have taken, but I don’t know her heart. I don’t know her motivations.

      I don’t know if you are an animal lover of not, but let’s say that you are and you are a veterinarian working at a no-kill animal shelter where you treat and care for animals. One day the shelter changes its policy and now it is a kill shelter where your job requirements include not only feeding and caring for the animals, but you have to prep the animals for their liquidation.

      Do you quit so that your actions are congruent with your conscience? I certainly would. Do you stay to make a stand against the system because your conscience warrants it? I don’t know. I’m not in that position.

      Nevertheless, I think it says something about her character if she is willing to stand for her moral convictions (right or wrong) despite the consequences. I find that interesting.

      Let’s generalize this. I find it remarkable to see a person stand for her convictions in the face of some steep consequences. If you were in a similar situation, would you stand for your convictions? Or are there even any convictions worth fighting for? Is everything really relative where our convictions are merely preferences?

      These are questions worth asking and they will be different for each of us.

      Like

Leave a Reply

