Another Typical Day

Almost 2 1/2 months since my first Remicade infusion and I’m still trying to determine how much it is actually helping.  I just came off a flare up that lasted about a week and a half.  I’m still not feeling terrific.  Granted, I have had some days where I felt pretty good, but I don’t know if Humira is better or not yet.

Ankylosing spondylitis is a real bear and when my symptoms are excruciatingly apparent, they seem to be increasing in severity and scope.  My lower spine feels as if it is bathed in flames and the pain in my hips is increasing.  Then there is the newest symptom.  When I lay on my back, my chest hurts in the sternum area.  

I’m curious to know if you can stack immunosuppressants like bodybuilders do steroids.  I figure if I get some relief from Remicade and some from Humira, that could be favorable.  Granted, the risks are elevated, but why worry about the cancer you might get tomorrow if you are enduring crippling pain today?  

I’ll see the rheumatologist on the sixteenth when I get my next infusion. In the meantime, I’ll just lurch like Godzilla.

4 thoughts on “Another Typical Day”

  1. I know exactly what you mean! I’ve had 4 so far. I think it’s working. The relief is ever so slight and I can only tell when it’s at the tail end of the 2 months. I hope you get some relief.
    Carole

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

