One More Day

I finally started my new medication to treat my ankylosing spondylitis.  I had my first Remicade infusion Monday.  Now I guess it’s time to wait and see.  The nurse told me that it could take up to six weeks before I feel any effects.  Six weeks is a long time.  I hope I get relief sooner than that.

I’ve been going to physical therapy for a few months to improve mobility as well.  There is nothing better that the fuzzy sensation from the electrical stimulation machine.  It helps alleviate pain so well that I was prescribed my own TENS unit.  I finally got it yesterday.  I went to bed with it on my lower back and kept it on while I worked today.  I took it off a couple of hours ago and the pain has increased in intensity and determination.  Pain seems to be intentional in gaining your attention.  The object isn’t finding a cure.  The object is to make it one more day.

One more day.  I’ve dealt with five and a half years of one more days.  Swapping medications and waiting for the new one to establish authority over my illness makes those days longer.  Those days are harder.

I want to just vegetate on the couch like I used to when dealing with these flare ups.  I’m working again, so I have to suck it up.  I have other responsibilities.  “Suck it up, Princess,” is something I occasionally hear.  Sometimes I hear it from myself.  

I’m not trying to turn this into a whine fest.  This time yesterday I was telling myself, “One more day.”  I’m saying it now and I will likely be repeating it tomorrow.  I’m confident the medication will help.  If not, I can go back to Humira and those dreadful injections.  At least they are somewhat effective.  I’m hoping for even greater relief on this new medication adventure.  (I would say drug adventure, but that sounds more like an excursion with the late Hunter S. Thompson).

Just one more day.

4 thoughts on “One More Day”

    1. Thanks, Mike. I really appreciate it. Still, I’m doing much better than I have at times, but I’ve come to realize that I easily forget what O have endured when I’m feeling better. Conversely, I forget how good I felt when my symptoms are especially nasty. Each day I get through is one more day closer to relief.

      Like

  1. Hang in there, Ted! I know a lot of people who Remicade work wonders for, and I sincerely hope that it turns out to be your miracle drug. I take Humira and if you have to go back to that consider this: a few minutes of pain/ squamishness over the shot is worth the minutes, hours, or days of relief ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are definitely right. My wife administers the shot while I holler a good ten seconds. Then it’s over and I feel pretty good maybe ten out of fourteen days. Then it’s time for another shot. I’m looking forward to seeing what Remicade can do for me, though.

      Like

Leave a Reply

