Could Be Raining

It’s been three weeks since I started my new job.  For the most part, I haven’t worked these past forty-five months because of my medical ailments.  We have spent this time paying off debt and it’s just about time to throw our debt snowball at my thousands of dollars in student debt.  It’s interesting that my education has been utterly worthless from a financial perspective.  Nevertheless, I still have the debt and my wife told me, “Suck it up, Princess.  We have to get gazelle intense and start killing cheetahs.”  You just gotta love Dave Ramsey and his analogies.

I’m fortunate in that I actually have a job that I value.  I get to serve our homeless everyday.  I believe that my volunteer work over the past four or five years have prepared me for this job.  Granted, I’m only a cook, but a delicious meal can bring some color to a bleak life. 

Am I still in pain?  Certainly.  If my nerve pain isn’t flared up, I’m dealing with the nightmare that is ankylosing spondylitis.  I get ready for work at four a.m. when I feel pretty decent.  When I finally get home from work, I’m in so much pain that I can’t pry myself from the couch.  Or the floor.  I have an appointment to see my rheumatologist next week, so maybe I’ll get to try a new medication as Humira helps greatly, but I’m still suffering.

I know that I have a blessed life despite my hardships.  When I am crushed by the pain I sometimes remember what Marty Feldman said to Gene Wilder as they were grave robbing in Young Frankenstein.  He said, “Could be worse.  Could be raining.”  

2 thoughts on “Could Be Raining”

Leave a Reply

