Mercy Chefs Dallas Homeless Outreach — 1/18/2015

Trekking from Shreveport to Dallas and back to head up a homeless outreach under a bridge is a big undertaking for me. This was my first time driving the kitchen trailer by myself. I wasn’t dragging a three foot popup tent. It’s something around 37 feet of culinary carnage. Really, I anticipated that careening in slow motion off a bridge was in the realm of possibility, but I drove like an AARP racecar driver.

The other concern came from my wife as I have a history of falling asleep at the wheel, and I had my oldest daughter and her best friend in tow. If I was feeding my candy crushing addiction and caused a fourteen car pileup because of my gross negligence, I don’t know how I could live with myself, but I think after community service, I could get back in my wife’s good graces. Catching my beauty rest at 75 mph with live cargo is a line my wife won’t cross. The other option was to go to sleep by 10 pm and guzzle about eight Red Bulls throughout the day. I thought aliens were going to burst out of my chest from this tonic, but it was a reasonable risk.

We served shepherd’s pie and delightful bundt cake to around 200 homeless people under the bridge on Hickory Street. A church comes out regularly to preach the gospel to these people who may never have the opportunity. It’s a gospel of hope, and I hope the simple gift of a hot meal does its small part in sharing the love of Jesus Christ.

Seventeen hours later, I’m on my couch reliving the day’s events. It is so amazing being to volunteer with fellow Mercy Chefs. It’s amazing to be trusted to move the kitchen to the site. It is just amazing serving Jesus Christ.

But when you give a feast, invite the poor, the crippled, the lame, the blind, and you will be blessed, because they cannot repay you. For you will be repaid at the resurrection of the just.” (‭Luke‬ ‭14‬:‭13-14‬ ESV)

4 thoughts on “Mercy Chefs Dallas Homeless Outreach — 1/18/2015”

  1. Glad things went well Ted. I know how you feel as I am just beginning to get the hang of pulling my food trailer, although it is not as big as any of the Mercy Chefs mobile kitchens.

    Like you, I hope that the meals that we serve to the homeless help in some small way to let the people we serve feel the love of Christ and the compassion and the heart for service that He taught us to share. Someone from our group always delivers a gospel message before our food service as well.

    I thank God often for giving me the opportunity to volunteer with Mercy Chefs and for letting that service be the catalyst for opening my eyes and allowing me to focus and act on the gift of serving the homeless, the hungry and the needy with the comfort of a hot meal and the realization that someone cares.

    Like

    1. I agree, Mike. Mercy Chefs has opened my eyes in many ways. I found a ministry in Shreveport that does a more ‘inclusive’ approach to address the homeless problem. It’s the Shreveport/Bossier Rescue Mission. I startef volunteering there to see if they are a good fit for me. I’m serving meals but an trying to get some actual kitchen duties.

      –Those trailers are a real challenge!

      Like

Leave a Reply

