Pan Seared Rosemary-Ginger Steelhead Trout

I really don’t particularly care to have restrictions on my diet.  I know I could lose twenty pounds and who knows what my cholesterol count is, but I’m experimenting with my diet in an effort to reduce inflammation.  I was diagnosed with ankylosing spondylitis, an autoimmune disorder and there’s nothing worse than angry joints.

IMG_4549.JPG
Marinating trout.

I’ve read that nightshades can cause inflammation.  My issue is that I eat nightshades daily.  I’m on my third day without tomatoes, potatoes, or peppers.  Believe me, trying to season my food without cayenne, paprika, chili powder, or Tabasco is a real challenge.  The plan is to see if I have any improvement after a month free of nightshades.

I’m also attempting to eat a little healthier.  I’m trying to get my family on board to eat fish at least once a week.  I spotted some beautiful steelhead at the grocery store and knew this was going to be dinner tonight.

I didn’t use any special recipe, I just knew I was going to use rosemary since my rosemary shrub is basically a tree now.  I didn’t measure anything, but I have some pretty close approximations.

Ingredients

olive oil (for coating the fish fillets)

1/2 cup rosemary, finely minced

1 tablespoon crystallized ginger, minced

1/2 teaspoon black pepper

1/4 teaspoon white pepper

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

1/2 teaspoon light brown sugar

1/2 teaspoon salt

Nicely seared.
Nicely seared.

Method

Mix all ingredients except for the olive oil.  This will be your rub.

Coat fish fillets with olive oil and apply rub liberally to both sides.

Allow to sit at room temperature for thirty minutes.

Heat iron skillet.  Once medium hot, add fish fillets flesh side down.  (This may have to be done in batches depending on the amount of fish).

Sear fish for three minutes.  Turn over and sear the skin side for three minutes.

Fish should be cooked through and ready to eat.

Pan seared trout, mixed greens with apples and raspberries and a simple garlic vinaigrette, and black rice.
Pan seared trout, mixed greens with apples and raspberries and a simple garlic vinaigrette, and black rice.
5 thoughts on “Pan Seared Rosemary-Ginger Steelhead Trout”

    1. I love fish, but my girls are pretty picky. For the most part they enjoyed it this time. I’m going to try to have fish once a week as long as my kids keep eating it.

      By the way, my favorite is the skin.

      Like

      1. I don’t think I’ve ever eaten the skin. I just saw it being used on “Iron Chef” yesterday and was curious. But I can see how crispy skin would be wonderful and brilliantly executed with some dishes.

        Like

Leave a Reply

