BBQ Chronicles: Billy’s Old Fashion Barbecue–Jasper, TX

The hunt for the best barbecue continues with the second joint today. This is a small victory as I have always wanted to hit more than one restaurant on the Texas Monthly Top 50 BBQ establishments in a single day. Billy’s Old Fashion Barbecue happens to be number 9. I have a hair less than four years to visit the other 41 before the list is updated. I have my work cut out for me as these places are as far at 500 miles from home.

I wasn’t hungry when we rolled into Jasper, but I was here to eat barbecue. I knew I wanted brisket and when we found the dilapidated restaurant, I knew we were going to experience some magic.

I chose the sliced brisket sandwich. I wasn’t expecting this monstrosity as it was quite large. Topped with pickles and onions, this sauce soaked sandwich was perfect. I only wish I had ordered the sauce on the side. The sauce was decent, but I came for the meat.

The sliced brisket was very nice. It was juicy and the fat was rendered beautifully. It was a bit toothsome, but it certainly wasn’t tough. I had forgotten to ask for untrimmed meat, so I was pleased when I saw that the crusty bark was intact.

The meat had a mild flavor. Not too much smoke, and it wasn’t overpowered with seasoning. It was a simple, beefy masterpiece. At only 2 1/2 hours from home, I can see myself loading up the family for a nice meaty adventure. This is easily a 4.0/5.0. Well done, Texas Monthly. This BBQ doesn’t disappoint.

IMG_4534.JPG

3 thoughts on “BBQ Chronicles: Billy’s Old Fashion Barbecue–Jasper, TX”

Leave a Reply

