Pastrami and Prosciutto Melt on Rye with Pepperoni Mustard

I’m a sandwich addict.  I just can’t help myself.  If you have followed my work, you would know that I’m continually thinking about food.  The flexibility of the sandwich is what attracts me to this culinary medium.  One creation that was especially tasty was my Monstrous Meatloaf on Ciabatta.  Another traditional favorite is my take on the grilled cheese.  Or, there’s always the egg salad sandwich.  If you have the time, you can make Scintillating Chicken Salad Sliders on Arepas, or you can go all out and make my favorite one–the Scotch Egg Sandwich on a Pretzel Roll with Horseradish Mustard.  That took some work, but if you like bratwurst like I do, you’ll be sated.

I’ve been wanting to make pepperoni mustard for a couple of weeks now.  Originally, I thought it would go well with corned beef, but I just couldn’t pass up the pastrami.  Besides, the whole family likes pastrami.  Corned beef?  Not so much.

The pepperoni mustard only takes about fifteen minutes with the aid of a ninja-like food processor.  I don’t even own a food processor.  I had to borrow one to try this creation out.  The sandwich is also easy.  Just stack meat to the sky.

Stack 6 slices of pastrami in preheated iron skillet.  Place two slices prosciutto and top with swiss cheese.  Cover and let heat for two minutes.
Stack 6 slices of pastrami in preheated iron skillet. Place two slices prosciutto and top with swiss cheese. Cover and let heat for two minutes.

Ingredients

6-8 slices pastrami

2 slices prosciutto

3 slices Swiss cheese

2 slices rye bread

4 thinly sliced red onion rings

2 tablespoons jalapenos

1 tablespoon pepperoni mustard

Pepperoni mustard spread on a pastrami and prosciutto melt on rye.
Pepperoni mustard spread on a pastrami and prosciutto melt on rye.

Method

Preheat an iron skillet over medium heat.  I got a paper towel with some vegetable oil and rubbed it over the hot skillet to keep the meat from sticking.

Stack pastrami, prosciutto, and cheese in skillet and cover for two minutes so the cheese melts.  Carefully remove stack with a large spatula and place on a slice of rye bread.  Top with onions and jalapenos.  Spread pepperoni mustard on second slice of bread.  Top sandwich with second slice of bread.  Enjoy.

pastrami4

Leave a Reply

