Bacon Apple Fritter Strata With Oatmeal Crumble

IMG_6064

For those that know me, it is commonplace for me to share potential recipe ideas. My wife tells me that all I think about is food. She’s right.

I’m always concerned about the next meal. I anguish over what I want to cook. It’s not that I’m some kind of culinary genius. I’m not. I just like variety and our meal plan is nothing like what my mom instituted when I was young.

She was driven by what was cheapest, as am I, but you had a pretty good idea that Sunday was fried chicken, roast beef on Saturday, and the other days of the week were filled with spaghetti, salmon patties, meatloaf, and boiled Eckrich sausage and white rice.

She instituted variety, but the rotation of dishes was very tight. My meal rotation is quite loose where it might be weeks before you repeat a meal, or I may become obsessed with a certain ingredient (like pasta or pinto beans), and we eat practically the same meal for eleven days straight.

In the meantime, I’m always seeking out new recipes or creating my own. My dad would call it concocting while I prefer the term, developing. His bologna pasta is a concoction (and a disgusting one at that). A one-off. Something you pray you never encounter again.

When I consider recipe development, I revisit a recipe to improve upon it.  One recipe that needs some tweaking is my maple cake with mocha frosting.  It tastes good as it is, but there are some characteristics I would like to improve upon.

I’m also reminded of my pinto bean recipe.  I know you may think that beans are beans, but they aren’t.  This is about the best pinto beans I’ve ever had, but that doesn’t keep me from trying to make these legumes better.

Well, I had similar sentiments from my family when I made that strawberry-jalapeño pie. I think I know where I went wrong, so I’m considering a attempt which will bring this creation from a concoction to a development. I just hope it isn’t an abomination.

I was feeling sweet strata, so after three days of scheming, I finally brought my idea into the kitchen. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did thinking about it.

IMG_6069

Ingredients:

6 Krispy Kreme apple fritters, cut into 1 inch cubes
1 dozen extra large Eggland’s Best Eggs
1 cup milk
1/4 teaspoon sea salt
1 teaspoon Saigon cinnamon
3 tablespoons brown sugar
3/4 cup Hormel Real Bacon Bits

For crumble topping:

2 tablespoons brown sugar
3/4 cup old fashioned oats
3/4 cup all purpose flour
1 teaspoon Saigon cinnamon
3/4 cup Country Crock spreadable butter with canola oil

Method:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Place chopped fritters onto a nonstick cookie sheet and bake for 20 minutes so they are toasted.

Combine eggs, milk, sea salt, cinnamon, and brown sugar in a bowl with a fork or whisk.

Spray 9×11 pan with cooking spray and line the bottom with fritter cubes.

Pour egg mixture over fritter cubes and sprinkle bacon evenly over the top.

Combine ingredients for the crumble topping with your hand and spread mixture evenly over strata.

Bake at 350 F for 45 minutes or until done.

IMG_6065
All photos courtesy of Stacy Crumpley.
Leave a Reply

