Tolerating Everyone That Agrees

CC image courtesy of relevantinfo.org.
CC image courtesy of relevantinfo.org.

Sometimes I wonder if I’m the only sane person in the world. It is a time where there is no absolute truth. At least that’s what people say. These same people will call you a hater or a bigot if you dare to disagree with them. This is an extension of the Tolerance/Intolerance Paradox.

As a Bible believing Christian, I’m a part of the minority. I’m a simpleton for believing that abortion is murder. I know, I want to trample a woman’s God given right to kill her own child. Matt Walsh made a great point with his analogy of piledriving your pet.

Gay marriage is another hot button issue. I guess I’m a Neanderthal bigot for standing with the Bible. Look, I’m not concerned with people’s proclivities, but it is my duty to warn my neighbor that living an unrepentant lifestyle (and this encompasses much more than homosexuality) will result in divine judgment.

Let me make this known: I am heterosexual and I am faithful to my wife. There. I just came out of the faithful heterosexual closet. Next time I meet a stranger I’ll tell him, “Hello, my name is Ted and I’m a faithful hetero.”

This trait is what defines my entire being. Hellooooo I’m hetero! I don’t dwell on the fact that I’m straight.

God doesn’t judge people based on their sexuality. He judges based on sin. He is going to judge adulterers and fornicators as well. Don’t take my word for it. God’s word is chronicled in the Bible. If you disagree, you can take the matter up with Him.

The good news is that Jesus Christ died for all sinners. The only requirements are that we repent and believe in Him. The Son of Man became sin so that we might not perish. See that “might?” That’s like the asterisk in the record books next to Mark McGuire’s name. We must repent and believe to be saved.

The new polarizing issue is gun control. The gun control argument isn’t new, but it has landed in the morality arena. If you support the 2nd Amendment, you are slow-witted and are responsible for nut jobs that shoot people for sport. Even Jessa Dugger, one of the children on the TLC program, “I’ve Had More Children Than A Small Country and Counting,” is vilified simply for posing with a gun.

I understand that we may never be in agreement on many views, but should we clash in gladiatorial combat because you got chocolate in my peanut butter? Are you worse than Hitler’s and Stalin’s love child that was genetically manufactured in the Lubyanka simply because you hold a different point of view than mine? Of course not. That just makes you wrong. Just kidding.

In all seriousness, why such a visceral response to someone that holds a different point of view? I don’t remember stabbing anyone in the neck on the playground when I said He-Man could beat up G.I. Joe. Maybe I said they were a stupid head for even suggesting that Skeletor could beat She-Ra at arm wrestling.

I guess things really haven’t changed all that much.

7 thoughts on “Tolerating Everyone That Agrees”

  1. Politics are always dangerous. For me, I’m a very left wing democrat married to a military member living in the bible belt. When it comes to gay marriage, I have too many friends and family members who are gay for me to tell them that it’s wrong because it’s just too many people I love. And for the most part, it’s really none of my business who people love. I married my husband after three short months and I was horribly judged for it.

    I think that guns should be regulated, but after time spent in Alaska i’m extremely pro-gun (my only right wing trait).

    I think that you make a good point. We may not agree politically, but that’s what’s great about this country: we can express these views without repercussions. We can also express these views and find some common ground.

    Like

    1. Thank you for you well thought response. This is an example that disagreement is not hatred. It is just disagreement.

      I happen to take a literal view of the Bible. I know many think I’m a crackpot because of it, but that’s just fine.

      I like how atheist Penn Jillette words it: “How much do you have to hate somebody not to proselytize.” If I didn’t really believe it, no foul. But if I really believe and don’t share, I think that would exhibit hatred.”

      In the end, though, people can disagree and still have meaningful discourse.

      Like

      1. Your welcome. I love discussing politics, but I hate heated arguments. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion, I just think they should keep it to themselves.

        While I am a catholic, I’m a very open minded catholic. I don’t believe in creationism, but I do believe each person is here for a reason.

        Alas, the best argument is silence 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

