Pack Your Bags

Names can be like baggage. For better or worse, you drag your name along for a lifetime. However, one occasionally can escape their given name only to get a worse one.

My last name is peculiar, but I like it as it is uncommon. I like to identify with it. It is especially vowel-y that intimidates strangers. It flows like cool water which is fitting as my grandpa told me it meant creek. Luoma. Loo-oh-muh. Just like it’s spelled.

My name was borrowed from my grandpa. It even soan old guy’s name. He went by Ted. That’s normal enough, but my parents insisted on calling me by my initials. TJ is the epitome of uncool. I have actually spent most of my adult life running from it.

I was a disc jockey for many years. It’s a beautiful profession. You can choose any name you want and that name is the key to becoming someone else. When I started work at an active rock station I needed a flashy name. I settled on Naked Jake.

I was around 23. I thought I needed a name that would be remembered. I chose a name that cannot be forgotten. I’m 38 with a wife and three daughters now, and it no longer feels cool. It feels like a name you would give to the creeper that hangs out at the bus stop. It can’t get much worse unless you ARE the creeper at the bus stop.

It now seems that I am saddled with a mélange of monikers. My family calls me TJ. Old radio pals know me as Naked Jake. Then there are the few who call me Theodore or Theo. I’ll answer to anything, but my favorite name is Daddy.

 

 

This post is response to the Weekly Writing Challenge on names.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/17/writing-challenge-names/

2 thoughts on “Pack Your Bags”

  1. (Aww…that last line) This post is so neat. Having just met you, your last name was/is pretty interesting to me; and, yes, it is “vowel-y” but nicely so. This post is also special to me because the exercise I read today in a creative writing book of mine…the first part of it was about deeply exploring one’s name, or one’s character’s name. You begin this post eerily similar to how that exercise starts! By the way, you’re a pretty good writer. You’re also gonna have to tell us more about Naked Jake. He really sounds like a book character (hoping you get the idea!) Cheers!

    Like

Leave a Reply

